Skip to content
Cambridgeshire Counts — Cambridgeshire, in numbers.Local help →

Cambridgeshire, in numbers

Projects

Cambridgeshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Cambridge

Chisholm Trail: the first section is open

A walking and cycling link connects Cromwell Road with Cambridge North station.

Phase 1 opened in December 2021; the whole planned trail is a separate outcome · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cambridgeshire County Council

What the source says: The council identifies the first phase and Abbey–Chesterton Bridge as delivered. It distinguishes this from the full planned route.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Infrastructure delivery →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Build on an existing car-free link →

Avoid treating designs as delivered benefits →

How to track delivery →

Brampton and Huntingdon

Brampton to Huntingdon walking and cycling route

Updated designs include crossings, footways, cycleways and bus-stop changes.

Updated draft designs published for summer 2026; construction completion not established · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cambridgeshire County Council

What the source says: The page reports design changes following consultation. This is evidence of design development, not a finished route.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Infrastructure delivery →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Close gaps between useful routes →

Avoid treating designs as delivered benefits →

Target safety work where problems repeat →

How to track delivery →

Huntingdon, St Ives and A141 corridor

A141 and St Ives transport study

The council is examining transport changes around Huntingdon, St Ives and the A141.

Study listed in current council programme; no completed improvement claimed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cambridgeshire County Council

What the source says: The council lists a study into network upgrades, alongside separate local safety and walking schemes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Our projects and programmes →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Test transport choices around the A141 →

Avoid treating designs as delivered benefits →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Work in each district

Cambridge City Council

Cambridge →

Cambridge is improving Market Square while trying to deliver more council homes. The stalled Hartree infrastructure plan and smaller housing sites face different decisions. Planned homes are kept separate from completed homes.

£475,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Cambridge local authority area

14 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

East Cambridgeshire District Council

East Cambridgeshire →

Ely has affordable homes, museum investment and new walking and cycling links in progress. The route plans matter for daily journeys, but funding approval is only one step towards a connection people can use.

£346,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · East Cambridgeshire local authority area

14 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Fenland District Council

Fenland →

Fenland’s four market towns have different projects: a rebuilt High Street site in Wisbech, leisure-centre repairs in Chatteris, a proposed replacement leisure facility in Whittlesey and a redevelopment site in March. This review separates buildings ready for use from schemes that still need decisions, contracts or tenants.

£226,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Fenland local authority area

18 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Huntingdonshire District Council

Huntingdonshire →

Huntingdonshire’s current programme includes a sports and health hub in Huntingdon, the delayed Priory Centre in St Neots and town-centre proposals in Ramsey. These places need their own delivery checks. A completed football pitch, a refurbished venue and occupied shops are separate outcomes.

£308,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

26 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

South Cambridgeshire District Council

South Cambridgeshire →

South Cambridgeshire surrounds Cambridge city but is a separate district. New homes at Cambium Square, proposed services at Northstowe and a relocated community shop in Cambourne show different aspects of growth. The wider plan also has to address water and other infrastructure constraints across the district and Cambridge together.

£440,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

26 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →