Skip to content
Cambridgeshire Counts — Cambridgeshire, in numbers.Local help →

Huntingdonshire, in numbers

People and living standards: Huntingdonshire

Huntingdonshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Huntingdonshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 146,064 in 1991 to 191,941 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Huntingdonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 151,805 people in 1996; 191,941 people in 2025. 26.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991146,064
1992148,758
1993148,326
1994149,329
1995148,916
1996151,805
1997154,602
1998154,776
1999155,570
2000157,213
2001157,189
2002158,476
2003159,626
2004162,654
2005162,822
2006163,896
2007164,764
2008166,346
2009167,052
2010168,352
2011170,039
2012171,437
2013172,540
2014174,283
2015175,647
2016176,425
2017176,743
2018176,909
2019176,968
2020177,816
2021181,827
2022184,150
2023187,156
2024190,370
2025191,941
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Huntingdonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,501 people in 1996; 34,075 people in 2025. 1.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,942
199233,350
199333,187
199433,473
199533,187
199633,501
199733,946
199833,759
199934,264
200034,508
200134,057
200233,978
200333,851
200434,404
200533,608
200633,274
200732,797
200832,546
200932,373
201032,386
201132,347
201232,387
201332,451
201432,557
201532,527
201632,561
201732,270
201832,126
201932,106
202032,315
202132,677
202233,433
202333,945
202434,382
202534,075
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Huntingdonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 99,670 people in 1996; 117,654 people in 2025. 18% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,087
199298,072
199397,509
199497,982
199597,429
199699,670
1997101,670
1998101,744
1999101,829
2000102,807
2001102,738
2002103,646
2003104,326
2004106,178
2005106,535
2006107,452
2007108,163
2008109,085
2009109,009
2010109,348
2011110,000
2012109,724
2013109,550
2014109,801
2015110,209
2016110,110
2017110,096
2018109,847
2019109,276
2020109,413
2021112,299
2022113,202
2023115,042
2024116,811
2025117,654
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Huntingdonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,634 people in 1996; 40,212 people in 2025. 115.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,035
199217,336
199317,630
199417,874
199518,300
199618,634
199718,986
199819,273
199919,477
200019,898
200120,394
200220,852
200321,449
200422,072
200522,679
200623,170
200723,804
200824,715
200925,670
201026,618
201127,692
201229,326
201330,539
201431,925
201532,911
201633,754
201734,377
201834,936
201935,586
202036,088
202136,851
202237,515
202338,169
202439,177
202540,212
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 180,832 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Huntingdonshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5,7453.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,6461.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,0572.2%
White167,11692.4%
Other ethnic group1,2680.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 169,508 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Huntingdonshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White160,69194.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5301.5%
Asian/Asian British4,1902.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,6421%
Other ethnic group4550.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 156,954 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Huntingdonshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White152,48797.2%
Mixed1,4750.9%
Asian/Asian British1,4530.9%
Black/Black British7880.5%
Chinese/Other7510.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Huntingdonshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,663 per person in 1997; £26,667 per person in 2024. 176% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,663
19989,959
199910,645
200010,972
200111,260
200211,684
200311,987
200412,491
200513,481
200614,082
200714,605
200814,927
200915,478
201015,610
201115,639
201216,326
201316,970
201417,782
201518,522
201619,175
201719,816
201820,598
201921,501
202021,379
202121,523
202222,740
202325,071
202426,667
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Huntingdonshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8.9% in 1997; 2.7% in 2024. 11.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Huntingdonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8.9
1998-8
1999-5.9
2000-7.8
2001-9
2002-7.6
2003-8
2004-8
2005-4.1
2006-3.8
2007-4.8
2008-5.2
2009-3.3
2010-3.3
2011-4
2012-3.3
2013-3.1
2014-1.7
2015-2.6
2016-0.4
20170.6
20180.9
20192
20201.9
2021-1.5
2022-1
20232.5
20242.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.6%

21 March 2021 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.5%

21 March 2021 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£308,000

July 2026 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,057

August 2026 · Huntingdonshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.