Skip to content
Cambridgeshire Counts — Cambridgeshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Cambridgeshire, in numbers

People and living standards: South Cambridgeshire

South Cambridgeshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Cambridgeshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 121,912 in 1991 to 174,641 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Cambridgeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 125,252 people in 1996; 174,641 people in 2025. 39.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991121,912
1992121,615
1993121,999
1994121,434
1995123,674
1996125,252
1997127,569
1998128,389
1999128,589
2000128,675
2001130,476
2002131,893
2003134,057
2004135,645
2005137,420
2006139,264
2007141,484
2008143,591
2009145,679
2010147,890
2011149,842
2012151,133
2013151,598
2014153,423
2015154,962
2016156,780
2017157,215
2018157,810
2019159,031
2020160,548
2021163,042
2022165,766
2023169,601
2024172,543
2025174,641
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Cambridgeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,959 people in 1996; 33,782 people in 2025. 30.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,294
199225,318
199325,448
199425,562
199525,747
199625,959
199726,178
199826,165
199926,060
200026,177
200126,247
200226,595
200327,162
200427,403
200527,514
200627,668
200728,013
200828,326
200928,939
201029,337
201129,547
201229,693
201329,746
201430,188
201530,393
201630,868
201730,999
201831,122
201931,290
202031,380
202131,738
202232,565
202333,323
202433,791
202533,782
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Cambridgeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 81,170 people in 1996; 105,868 people in 2025. 30.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199179,737
199279,239
199379,261
199478,353
199580,054
199681,170
199783,004
199883,649
199983,806
200083,582
200184,973
200285,741
200386,951
200487,803
200589,024
200690,353
200791,731
200892,629
200993,425
201094,415
201195,272
201294,969
201394,407
201495,032
201595,774
201696,605
201796,360
201896,382
201996,948
202097,776
202199,207
2022100,421
2023102,747
2024104,413
2025105,868
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Cambridgeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,123 people in 1996; 34,991 people in 2025. 93.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,881
199217,058
199317,290
199417,519
199517,873
199618,123
199718,387
199818,575
199918,723
200018,916
200119,256
200219,557
200319,944
200420,439
200520,882
200621,243
200721,740
200822,636
200923,315
201024,138
201125,023
201226,471
201327,445
201428,203
201528,795
201629,307
201729,856
201830,306
201930,793
202031,392
202132,097
202232,780
202333,531
202434,339
202534,991
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 162,117 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Cambridgeshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,3995.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,0191.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,5912.8%
White144,28589%
Other ethnic group1,8231.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 148,755 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Cambridgeshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White138,78793.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5241.7%
Asian/Asian British5,5403.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,2680.9%
Other ethnic group6360.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 130,108 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Cambridgeshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,29297.1%
Mixed1,1340.9%
Asian/Asian British1,1340.9%
Black/Black British5680.4%
Chinese/Other9800.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Cambridgeshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,211 per person in 1997; £32,205 per person in 2024. 126.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,211
199814,658
199915,404
200016,251
200116,340
200216,760
200316,735
200417,586
200518,710
200619,352
200720,077
200820,455
200920,287
201020,393
201120,414
201220,971
201322,065
201423,086
201524,446
201624,769
201725,391
201826,320
201926,744
202026,014
202127,441
202228,524
202330,631
202432,205
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Cambridgeshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 33.9% in 1997; 24% in 2024. 9.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Cambridgeshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199733.9
199835.4
199936.2
200036.5
200132.1
200232.5
200328.4
200429.6
200533.1
200632.1
200730.8
200829.9
200926.7
201026.3
201125.3
201224.2
201326
201427.7
201528.5
201628.6
201728.9
201829
201926.9
202023.9
202125.6
202224.2
202325.3
202424
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63.1%

21 March 2021 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10.7%

21 March 2021 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

11.8%

21 March 2021 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.4%

21 March 2021 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£440,000

July 2026 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,408

August 2026 · South Cambridgeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.