Skip to content
Cambridgeshire Counts — Cambridgeshire, in numbers.Local help →

Fenland, in numbers

People and living standards: Fenland

Fenland local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Fenland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 75,077 in 1991 to 105,930 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Fenland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 78,991 people in 1996; 105,930 people in 2025. 34.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,077
199276,662
199377,672
199478,202
199578,632
199678,991
199780,135
199881,311
199982,310
200082,881
200183,687
200284,676
200386,296
200487,983
200588,968
200690,647
200792,713
200893,653
200994,404
201095,135
201195,461
201296,429
201397,556
201498,571
201599,991
2016101,075
2017102,029
2018102,346
2019102,487
2020102,228
2021102,731
2022103,317
2023104,164
2024105,442
2025105,930
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Fenland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,470 people in 1996; 18,192 people in 2025. 17.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,517
199214,802
199315,037
199415,232
199515,375
199615,470
199715,712
199815,919
199916,352
200016,357
200116,417
200216,494
200316,714
200416,906
200516,820
200616,927
200717,112
200817,112
200916,992
201016,839
201116,745
201216,821
201316,986
201417,164
201517,374
201617,601
201717,764
201817,822
201917,819
202017,622
202117,652
202217,828
202318,046
202418,204
202518,192
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Fenland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,734 people in 1996; 62,835 people in 2025. 28.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,863
199247,890
199348,388
199448,536
199548,587
199648,734
199749,453
199850,216
199950,452
200050,799
200151,281
200251,914
200352,955
200453,981
200554,806
200656,173
200757,721
200858,263
200958,736
201059,145
201159,221
201259,503
201359,885
201460,136
201560,937
201661,397
201761,850
201861,820
201961,625
202061,333
202161,503
202261,435
202361,872
202462,601
202562,835
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Fenland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,787 people in 1996; 24,903 people in 2025. 68.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,697
199213,970
199314,247
199414,434
199514,670
199614,787
199714,970
199815,176
199915,506
200015,725
200115,989
200216,268
200316,627
200417,096
200517,342
200617,547
200717,880
200818,278
200918,676
201019,151
201119,495
201220,105
201320,685
201421,271
201521,680
201622,077
201722,415
201822,704
201923,043
202023,273
202123,576
202224,054
202324,246
202424,637
202524,903
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 102,461 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Fenland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2321.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8140.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4121.4%
White98,28095.9%
Other ethnic group7230.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 95,262 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Fenland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White92,63197.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9010.9%
Asian/Asian British1,0751.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4970.5%
Other ethnic group1580.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 83,519 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Fenland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,34698.6%
Mixed4710.6%
Asian/Asian British3170.4%
Black/Black British1760.2%
Chinese/Other2090.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Fenland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,901 per person in 1997; £22,333 per person in 2024. 150.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,901
19989,085
19999,577
20009,853
200110,141
200210,632
200310,881
200411,308
200512,071
200612,479
200712,657
200812,970
200913,624
201013,692
201113,922
201214,439
201314,895
201415,541
201515,976
201616,450
201716,773
201817,002
201917,639
202018,175
202118,416
202219,744
202321,109
202422,333
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Fenland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -16.1% in 1997; -14% in 2024. 2.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Fenland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-16.1
1998-16.1
1999-15.3
2000-17.2
2001-18
2002-16
2003-16.5
2004-16.7
2005-14.1
2006-14.8
2007-17.5
2008-17.6
2009-14.9
2010-15.2
2011-14.6
2012-14.5
2013-15
2014-14.1
2015-16
2016-14.6
2017-14.9
2018-16.7
2019-16.3
2020-13.4
2021-15.7
2022-14
2023-13.7
2024-14
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.5%

21 March 2021 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21%

21 March 2021 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

25.8%

21 March 2021 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.4%

21 March 2021 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£226,000

July 2026 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£842

August 2026 · Fenland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.